High stakes English Language test such as the IELTS are increasingly being delivered on the computer. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the number of administering English language tests, such as IELTS, with computers is growing significantly. While taking online exams has some deficits these are negligible compared to the benefits. This essay will explain in detail why the advantages of choosing online-based IELTS do in fact outweigh the disadvantages. The first and main advantage of taking the online version is its effectiveness. Particularly, in the writing section, the examinee can simply type their answer instead of manually writing them down in the answer sheet. This is extremely beneficial because it gives them the flexibility to quickly correct their word and even to change the sequence of the sentences without changing the whole paragraph. Thus, choosing to do an online-based IELTS is more effective than the conventional one. Moreover, the benefit of doing English exams with computers is that we directly contribute to sustaining our environment. For example, an offline-based test needs to use paper for the question and answer sheets. Then, it leads to more trees being cut down and decreasing the number of forest areas as our sources of oxygen. The second example is the amount of waste to be processed before dumping it back into nature. When taking IELTS online, these activities are simply avoidable. Therefore, the online-based version is more eco-friendly rather than the paper-based. On the other hand, there are a few downgrades to taking IELTS with a computer. Many report errors while performing in the speaking section of the exam. The most common examples are when the instruction video keeps lagging and the microphone doesn't work. Another example is that the rest examinee admits, that it is frustrating when they can not mark a specific word or sentence in the reading section. In Conclusion, I personally think those disadvantages are way manageable, while the advantages of doing IELTS with a computer offer Change the form of the verb offers show examples a lot more opportunities for us. Starting from its effectiveness to sustaining our nature.