In many countries today children begin learning a foreign language before entering primary school. What are the reasons for this? At what age should children begin to learn a foreign language?

In today’s increasingly globalized and international world, more and more parents are deciding to send their children to study an international language while they are still at kindergarten or nursery school. If they begin to learn a foreign language at a very young age indeed, they will get a head start on their contemporaries, and develop better language skills than other children. Therefore, in my opinion, learning a different language should begin as early as possible, depending upon the degree of maturity and self-confidence possessed by the individual child. It is clear that, in order to flourish in the modern world, people need to be able to communicate internationally as well as in their own domestic language. If they are to achieve this, they must begin to learn an international language, such as English, as early as possible. Consequently, they will overcome many of the difficulties involved in vocabulary, pronunciation and grammar at a young age, and be able to express themselves freely to others around the world when the time comes for them to do so. Therefore, in my view, the earlier they begin to study, the better it is. On the other hand, it is less clear at what age this should happen. If a two-year-old has an unusual interest in not only their own language but also other languages, it may be appropriate to begin studying simple words at home. However, for other students, it may be better to wait until they have acquired fluency and accuracy in their own language before they begin to study another one. In the case of a particularly talented student, this stage could be reached at the age of three, while for others it is better to wait until they are four or five before they begin a course of study. Nowadays, parents are looking for ways of improving their children’s future prospects. Although, in some cases, learning a foreign language could begin as young as two years old, in my view it is better to wait until the child is ready, and demonstrates an interest in the language, before they start studying it.