In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicle will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology is flourishing by leaps and bounds today. A few decades ago, who would have thought that electronic vehicles can go robotic? But, this seems to be a reality now. In fact, many companies have sent a proposal to obtain licenses from the Ministry of Transportation to go automated. But as they say, every fun has a cost to pay. In this essay, I will discuss both views and provide my opinion at the end, on why I feel robotic vehicles have more disadvantages than advantages. To begin with, transportation plays a major role in the economy. It provides employment to approximately 20 per cent of the population in our country. Therefore, If transit goes automated, a lot of the public will lose their jobs. The unemployment rate of our country will also increase which will result in lower GDP. Another factor which needs to be taken into consideration is how safe and secure automatic automobiles will be in future. Trials have been made and still, companies are not 100 per cent sure about it. However, there are other people as well who feel that automatic automobiles are the need of the hour. As major accidents occur in today's time due to the negligence of drivers, steps need to be taken at a global level in order to avoid this problem. Setting up and implementing automatic machines seem to be a perfect solution for them. In my opinion, till a time no robust solution is in place, the concept of robotic machines can be postponed. Also, the Government needs to make sure that before this technology is implemented, jobs are in place for the public who will get unemployed after this transit comes into the picture. Therefore, the concept of automatic machines can be avoided at present.