Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Looking at the world it is clear that we are surrounded by people who are talented at singing and drawing. However, the dilemma is who should be responsible for funding them. My view is that money for art projects should come from governments. The first point to consider is that apart from entertainment, many other sectors also need to be supported. Consider public services such as healthcare, homeland security, and infrastructure, all of which are necessities to ensure our cities could function properly. Nevertheless, paintings and music are a luxury that only belongs to the few super-wealthy people. Thus, it is obvious where to spend the money collected from the public. Likewise, many public servants are not getting what they deserve as well. Professional occupations that could positively contribute to the public such as doctors, teachers, and police officers are still underfunded. In contrast, certain rap stars earn millions of dollars while they merely spread hate and violence to gain attraction from impulsive teenagers. Therefore, city councils should ration their budgets according to the contribution made by individuals. Those who harbour the view that art projects require support from governments may argue that they were made for the sake of society. Indeed, some public arts such as the sculptures made by street artists in downtown Toronto not only represent culture and heritage but also act as landmarks that enable tourists to gain knowledge about the local history. Hence, these artists should be exclusively paid by people who voluntarily visit this kind of art, which seems like a reasonable compromise. In conclusion, artists should rely on other sources of financial support as politicians ought to aid public servants who can keep the country running. Only by doing so can we create a better artistic atmosphere for everyone.