Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is true that many individuals choose to be independently employed, instead of working at the public or private organisations. The main reasons why people prefer to be self-employed are independence and security. However, freelance work can lead to feelings of loneliness and burnout, which can have a negative impact on one's mental health and well-being. There are several reasons why more and more individuals prefer working on their own. The first reason is autonomy, self-employment provides individuals with a greater degree of autonomy and control over their work, which can be empowering and motivating. This can also give a greater sense of satisfaction and fulfilment in their work. Secondly, job security, while self-employment may not offer traditional job security, it can provide individuals with a greater sense of monitoring over their employment and income, which can be valuable in uncertain economic times. Nevertheless, there is another side of the coin. As a rule, people who work for themselves can also face some issues during climbing the career ladder. For instance, freelancers frequently work alone and may not have regular interactions with colleagues or peers, which can lead to feelings of loneliness and social isolation. Additionally, self-employed individuals may feel pressure to work longer hours or take on more projects to make up for any lulls in business, which can lead to burnout and fatigue. Therefore, it can reduce work efficiency. To conclude, in spite of benefits, such as independence and secure job, self-employed people can also face some challenges which include aloneness and fatigue.