Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

Education is becoming more accessible these days, however there are many adults who are illiterate. They seem to have a low chance of getting hired and struggle to get information from specific sources due to their inability to read or write. As for governments, they can help them by providing short-term educational services. First and foremost, employers are more likely to hire well-educated people, who got their undergraduate or postgraduate degrees. Regarding this trend, illiterate people usually stay unemployed, even if they are good at jobs which require physical strength. For example, according to a survey in Mongolia, over 97 per cent of illiterate people do not have jobs. Secondly, those people might have trouble finding information from common sources like social media or newspapers, at the same time, they often do not have the opportunity to learn new things since most courses contain slides or additional materials to read. Governments can construct schools which can teach how to read and write to the adults by short-term courses. In this way, illiterate grown-ups will be able to develop themselves on their own. Afterwards, the country's unemployment rate will decrease and more people's life quality will increase. For example, in some countries, governments help these kinds of people by making them attend a course which teaches them the basics of literation skills and connects them to the companies who are looking for workers. In conclusion, illiterate people mostly have a problem finding a job and getting the information they need. Although, the government can change their life by providing an educational service which teaches them how to read and write.