More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

The Internet has changed human life in various ways including how the public obtains news. In the past, newspapers and TV were two primary sources of getting news; however, today, most people are in favour of the Internet. In my opinion, this is a beneficial innovation and I will give some points to illustrate it. On the one hand, some citizens might fear possible online crimes resulting from the advent of the Internet. It is a matter of fact that fake news is ubiquitous in online newspapers or social media platforms. The misleading data is blamed for numerous societal problems consisting of a lack of trust in scientific findings. For example, some years ago, many hate speeches and articles on virtual channels about the detrimental consequences of using vaccines led to a high number of death among minors in the event of a measles outbreak in the middle part of Vietnam as their parents refused to use vaccines for their offspring. Therefore, many folks choose to maintain the conventional channels of getting news because they are official and more reliable. On the other hand, others concede that the disadvantages of acquiring information online seem to pale in comparison with their merits. Firstly, it is undeniable that the use of cyberspace promotes a sense of mobility. In lieu of having to stay at home waiting for news broadcasts at certain times of the day, travellers can keep track of what is going on in the world every single minute via news apps with smartphones or laptops wherever they go. Moreover, reading online also helps to save a lot of printing costs and materials to produce newspapers. This contributes to solving a number of environmental issues. In general, it goes without saying why this argument is strongly supported. To conclude, despite the fact that online readers and watchers might be exposed to misinformation, I believe the advantages of using online services as sources of obtaining information exceed the harmful effects. As long as people keep alert and double-check the content of what they see online, they can take advantage of it in a positive way.