Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products everywhere in the world Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, the availability of certain products over the world is currently increasing, which gives the populations in many countries similar fashion or food habits. Although this can be viewed as a big win for the economy and equal accessibility for all, I personally believe the negative aspects of this matter outweigh the positive ones. On one hand, efficient international trading has been a long-standing dream because it would open the doors for so many of us. Therefore, our leaders have over the years fought to improve the world economy by producing new workplaces and easier import regulations leading to equal product availability. And this can now be achieved as it encourages more competition between companies competing for the same customers, subsequently preventing monopoly prices in addition to generating new job opportunities in factors such as Apple as a direct result of the growing market. For example, for many years mobile phones used to be expensive, but the prices dropped as more companies started making the same products for less. On the other hand, there are two main drawbacks of the development, the first one being that it creates a wave of "the survival of the fittest", which means the most powerful (money/connections) cooperations will win the race and exclude the struggling and smaller businesses. The second most worrying side of this is that tourism will probably be slowed down as the travellers would not be able to experience anything "exotic" at their destinations. The diversity in food and fashion is the backbone of tourism. For example, as a visitor from Norway to Italia a few years back I used to buy handbags as a souvenir, but now the same stores are available in Oslo. In conclusion, despite the financial benefit of this trend and cherished equality, I personally believe we should appreciate our cultural diversities as nations.