Some people think that children should begin their education at a very early age. Some think they should begin at least 7 years old. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Globally, there are variable views regarding when children should begin formal education. A group of people believe that they should begin their education at an age of four years, while others are of the view that they should commence their education at a much older age of seven or eight. I vehemently support the former view owing to its broader impact on the development and learning adaptability of children. To begin with, those who are the proponents of children ’s formal education at an older age, mostly support this view due to the fact that at an early age, children do not have the mental tendency to cope with the rigorous standards of today’s education system. This claim was substantiated by an article which was published in a leading European magazine, wherein it was mentioned that the child’s brain requires a minimum of six years in order to fully understand the taught subjects. Additionally, such groups of people are of the opinion that admitting children to school at a later stage would save the families from the hefty schooling expenses for a few years, which they have to incur. This view could be true for countries belonging to a low-income category, with an exponentially expanding population. For instance, the economic experts of the most populous country, China, have stated that delaying early schooling drastically improves the average annual savings of a family On the other hand, in some countries, it is highly recommended that children start early schooling. The roots of this view are embedded in the fact that at an early age, children ’s tendency to grasp basic concepts, is at its peak. According to the research conducted by Oxford University, it has been observed that children who are admitted to schools at an early age outperform those admitted at a later age. Furthermore, as children move away from the comfort of their homes, to learn at a younger age, they become more adaptable to the changing environment. This, in turn, inculcates in them the ability to respond to various situations at an early age. As per the official stats of an international kindergarten, it was observed that children admitted at an early age, showed greater interest in solving challenging tasks, set in different environments, as compared to the ones admitted at an older age. To conclude, both opinions have their own support groups in different parts of the world. However, children should start their formal education at age 4 as it has a significant positive impact on their development and learning capabilities, which should not be undermined.