The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common to see that social media are replacing face-to-face meetings. While the advent of this technology has some drawbacks in human communication, I believe that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages. On the one hand, social networking has some downsides to interpersonal connection. Firstly, visual contact weakens in-person connection. Getting used to online contact networks, people may get risk losing their communication skills as online platforms do not require nonverbal cues such as body language, or handshaking. As a result, the quality and number of meaningful real conversations might be decreased. Furthermore, online interaction sometimes causes some misunderstanding. Instant messaging or email with online texts sometimes can not show any emotion, which sometimes can lead to conflict. However, there is no wonder that social media are beneficial for interpersonal relationships through facilitating communication. The first undeniable advantage of social media is that they form a new way of connecting. With the advent of technology, the public nowadays can get to know new ones from various platforms, like Omegle for language learners to exchange languages, and Tinder for dating. Besides opening a circle of friends, social networks also strengthen people's relationships. Facebook residents now can easily stay in touch with their friends and relatives living thousands of miles far from them through instant messaging or video calls. In conclusion, the way that social platform replaces face-to-face interaction have pros and cons, but I believe that its advantage outweigh is an advantage as social is a supplementary tool to strengthen communication between people.