In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. What are the causes of this? What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, due to the development in agricultural technology, the food produced worldwide would be enough for the population, however, many people suffer from malnutrition. In my opinion, the wrong distribution of foodstuff and the tons of good food that goes to waste around the world are the leading causes, but these could be solved if governments would set up an equal repartition of nourishment and improve the current measures of foodstuff treatment. A major leading cause of continued hunger is the poor distribution of nourishment around the world. This is because some countries consume more food than they need, while others suffer from malnutrition. For example, many developed countries have large numbers of restaurants, where citizens enjoy delicious meals as a pastime. Meanwhile, in other developing countries, citizens do not have enough food for their entire families. This could be solved if governments would establish laws to distribute food according to the inhabitants of each country, resulting in an equal distribution of resources. Another relevant cause of this issue is the tons of food that are wasted as a result of improper foodstuff treatment. Although many states try to reduce the amount of food wasted, it is a fact that some states waste large amounts of food each day, according to recent news. Moreover, these products could be consumed or sent to developing countries before they go to waste. For example, countries such as the United States throw away tons of food to waste every day instead of giving it to homeless people. This situation could be addressed if governments set up measures for food treatment, punishing countries that misuse food and encouraging others to reduce their amounts of food waste. To conclude, I believe that poor distribution of nourishment and the amount of food that is wasted are the main causes of people’s hunger. Both of these problems could be solved if governments increase their controls over food distribution, setting up an equal repartition according to the population and punishing countries which misuse the food they consume in order to reduce people’s hunger.