Some people claim that young people are more attractive than older people in business or in the workplace. Do you agree or disagree with this?

A vast majority of the population is under the impression today that the younger generation is more attractive than the elder generation in business and the workplace. In this essay, I will highlight the reasons behind this viewpoint and express my opinion at the end on why I feel an effective balance needs to maintain between the two. To commence with, many people feel that youngsters are more enthusiastic. According to them, younger people can provide better ideas and positive energy to the company than the elder population which in turn will help the company to achieve desired results. This situation can be explained with the example of Google and Facebook. These companies have more than 80 per cent of their staff aged less than 30 years. When the management of these companies was asked about the hiring pattern, they explained that old people have a laid-back approach and are not punctual. On the contrary, there is the public who feels that the young generation can never replace the older one. The kind of experience and knowledge these people possess is unmatchable. Experienced professionals can turn difficult situations into an opportunity and can help the company achieve better results. Examples of firms which have a higher percentage of the elder generation in their workforce are PWC and KPMG. After taking into consideration both viewpoints, I feel that an effective balance needs to maintain between the different sections of society. Youth can provide companies with better energy and the elder segment can provide firms with their experience. Thus, In my opinion, an effective combination can help teams to achieve better results.