Nowadays most green energy is becoming evermore prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The world today uses more renewable energy than ever before since it contributes to the preservation of the environment and is economically sound. This essay will examine both views, but personally, I strongly advocate the adoption of renewable sources of energy. On the one hand, opponents of renewables claim that the world could face disruptions to the power supply should they be fully adopted. This is largely due to the fact that many green energy technologies currently in use depend on changeable and unpredictable phenomena. To take the fastest growing sector as an example, solar panels can only be used in the presence of strong and direct sunlight, and a cloudy few days could still result in a blackout if we depended entirely on solar power; something that is unlikely to occur today given current oil stockpiles. However, fossil fuels are a larger threat to energy security since they are certainly finite in quantity, whereas renewable energy is effectively infinite. Furthermore, problems of unpredictability can be mitigated by improving battery machinery (to create a larger buffer), building more renewable energy generators (to increase supply during ideal conditions) and improving current technologies (to increase efficiency), such as in the moving solar panel example. Proponents of renewables, therefore claim that they are the most economically sound option. To conclude, while many may believe that green technologies are a threat to energy security, the fossil fuels they frequently promote are a greater threat, and renewables are in fact the only sound option, both economically and environmentally.