Some school leavers go travelling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think this has more advantages or disadvantages for their study?

In today’s world, some students are willing to work or travel for a while before starting the education at university. Working and travelling after finishing school has both advantages and disadvantages. From my perspective, it has more drawbacks than benefits. I will elaborate on this theme further. One of the advantages of working and travelling before commencing education at the university that students could learn how to rely on themselves. Afterwards their early self-reliance ability could impact their life positively. For example, their chances to interact with people and how to communicate with them could be high. Also, the negotiation skills would be upgraded due to the gained experience. Furthermore, they will be able to allocate the budget by their own. For the reason of that some parents support the children’ idea to work or travel for a particular period of time. There are more negative sides of having a work or travelling instead of going to the university. Firstly, graduates are young and they don’t have enough life experience, so they could get themselves in trouble easily. Secondly, they spend less time with parents, if they work or travel which means they will be under limited supervision. Consequently, it could lead to unpleasant outcomes like getting under the influence of a bad company or committing illegal activities. One of the downside of working before joining the university is having some difficulties in their learning when they get back to educational institute. As they get used to live in a comfort zone working and travelling, their ability to learn a new subject and perceiving information could be slowed down. To sum up, entering the university after graduating school would be better decision rather than working and travelling. Thus, it could cause some problems in their discipline.