Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many kids nowadays are spending many hours on mobile phones daily. This situation is caused by plenty of interesting games provided on their phones. I personally think wasting children’s time on smartphones will be harmful to them since it will bother their study time and provide less interactive activity to assist their cognitive development. There are thousands of online games exist that can be played on smartphones. This absolutely attracts kids and even worse, the game will be addictive to them. What will happen when a kid is addicted to a game? Once a child is already in this stage, many other things will be affected as other bad side effects. For instance, while studying at school, the focus will be distracted by playing their phone games instead of paying attention to their teacher. This will result in low academic performance. Moreover, this kind of behaviour shows how disrespectful they are for ignoring the teacher’s explanation of lessons. Studies also reported that smartphones only offer one-way communication which is poor for intelligence growth, especially for kids in their golden age (0 - 5 years). Many scientists believe this era is essential for their brains and needs good stimulation to enhance both motoric and sensory skills, which a phone cannot afford it. For example, when a mom shows a cartoon video to her toddler, there is no other interaction except the baby processes the visuals. It will be more advantageous for the baby to play with dolls that include their imagination of pretending as well as their senses by touching them. To sum up, a smartphone can affect a kid's academic aspect since it may cause addiction to games in it. Moreover, real toys will help children to develop their skills rather than a phone.