In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Knowledge of the place you live in, be it a country, a city, or just a building, was always important. And now, it is becoming even more popular to learn the history of the house where you live. The reasons for this may be different. Some people are just inspired by all these horror films, and some want to learn something new during the restrictions of Covid 19. There are many potential sources to investigate, from neighbours and previous renters to city archives and old papers. Folk was always excited about the past. What could be more interesting than going deep into the story of a ghost which, according to the rumours, used to live in your current apartment? Each year there is a new hit, a film, or a book, based on our fear of the unknown and paranormal, and usually include an old dark building - the heart of the horror. Well, this was one reason why people became interested in their houses. Some want to explore the world around them, which is a bit hard to do because of the current epidemic situation. The world of many became so small, and still, it is full of the unknown. People use different sources to get the information they want. The easiest way is to question neighbours, especially the old ones or previous renters. Some may tell the whole store by themself or give the right direction at least. The other way is to work with documents, such as public city archives or old papers. In the end, it might become a full-scale investigation that may take years and years. For example. In conclusion, I wanted to say that history matters. And for many individuals, the most important part of it is stories of their surroundings. It does not matter how you are going to investigate, you will probably find something breathtaking about your own home.