Some people believe that entertainers are more important than scientist in today’s world. Do you agree or disagree?

Since the dawn of time, the presence of entertainment has been a big deal in demand across the globe. To verify this, suffice it to recall the ancient Romans and their slogan "bread and circus". According to some, nowadays, people, who provide this service play an even more crucial role than scientists. I am not inclined to endorse this view for several reasons. First and foremost, the impact of scientists on the prosperity of humanity is major and cannot be compared with other fields, be it arts or entertainment. In other words, despite the fact that there is a number of outstanding professionals in any field, science is aimed at the future. Taking the example of space exploration, astronomers discover new space bodies and create hypotheses to find appropriate places for humanity to survive in, should it be a necessity. Therefore, such a global goal and the people involved in its achievement cannot be compared with any kind of entertainment, which should be considered a popular but rather optional field. Secondly, being superior species on our planet, human beings should take responsibility for life on Earth. To be exact, the willingness to be entertained is a sort of instinct, which is widespread among animals, since it brings fast pleasure, while high brain activity is the trait that reveals the discrepancy between humans and other animal species. For instance, endangered animals cannot protect themselves, while scientists, who thoroughly study factors that affect negatively populations and habitats, can make conclusions about effective measures that could prevent their extinction. As a result, it is preferable that people use their capacity to think efficiently instead of following blindly their instincts, related to the avoidance of boredom. In conclusion, having analyzed the issue, I am firmly convinced, that in the modern world, the value of entertainers is overestimated, whereas it is scientists, who deserve to be recognised by millions for their great goals and сurious minds.