Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many countries are known for investing a tidy sum to cultivate professional athletes who can provide outstanding performance in worldwide competitions. Despite that the success in sports competitions could gain the reputation of a nation, I could partially agree with such phenomena due to the value of public facilities for residents to form exercise habits should not be overlooked. To begin with, it is inevitable that there are various advantages provoked by winning medals in international sports games such as the Olympics. Not only individuals could benefit from the high bonuses but, it could also unite people together, and enhance the visibility of a country in the world. For example, Russia has been dedicated to upbring outstanding athletes,especially in gymnastics field. A great amount of money is used to support national athletes with all they need, including professional trainers and specialists who will look after their diets. On the other hand, it is the obligation of governments to maintain public health, since it not only will benefit individuals for having a better quality of life, but could save the money spend on medical resources for other usages. For example, there are many parks with exercise facilities could be seen in Singapore, as well as cycling paths with stunning views, all of those are free to be used, along with it, residents could spend a small amount of money to find personal trainers who can provide professional advice at gyms. It allows people in Singapore to cultivate a healthy lifestyle, and remain productive. To conclude, it is inevitable that there are various advantages to fostering a professional national athlete since it could gain the reputation of a country and allows sports players to reverse their life with the skills they have. However, the importance of general health in public should not be ignored. Therefore, I could only partially agree with the phenomena as such.