Some people think technology development decreases crimes, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The issue of whether advances in technology aid to promote or prevent crimes has sparked a debate in our society. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on this matter from both viewpoints and then give my opinion. On the one hand, myriad people opine that technological innovations have eased the work of the police force by equipping them with numerous cutting-edge facilities. If it had not been for such devices as radio or phones and other tracking tools, they could not have been able to react swiftly to abundant emergency situations. For instance, GPS and tracking systems assist policemen to follow and catch offenders more easily. Therefore, it is clear why so many folks believe in the importance of utilising modern facilities in stopping criminals. On the other hand, others are of the opinion that these advancements are accused of levelling off the crime rate. Citizens are surrounded by criminals of all types, namely fraud, hacking and cyberbullying, resulting in both financial deficits and casualties. Owing to technological development, especially the advent of the Internet, offenders' methods have become more sophisticated and unpredictable. A primary example of this is with 3D printing effects, fake documents or illegal objects can be generated to cheat a plethoral number of naive dwellers. Hence, it goes without saying that high-tech equipment is supposed to be blamed for accelerating crime levels. To conclude, although there are valid arguments on both sides; I, however, side with the opinion that the availability of advanced technology has brought more adverse influences on innocent citizens' lives on the grounds that the offenders, more often than not, always go ahead several steps. That's why all the police can do is solve the problems when they have already happened.