Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Socialising online has been a habit for many teenagers nowadays and it comes with ease. The development of technology has been making this possible and easier each time. Aside from technology, Covid-19 also plays a big role in making online socialisation become a norm. With the advancement of technology, social applications were developed and followed our needs. Newer applications were made and the internet brings those applications together into one complex ecosystem that supports most of our communication forms. Therefore, more and more teenagers are using online social media to interact. For example, a social platform like Instagram has features to post pictures, messages, group chat, and group video calls. It makes social interaction happens hassle-free and more fun. Combined with the pandemic era when people were pushed to limit their social interaction in real life and started to use more online platforms, no wonder that more teenagers are more likely to socialize online. To make teenagers spend more of their time interacting in real life, we should make their interaction more attractive by using things they will not get on online platforms. In my experience, creating attractive places can help to draw teenagers ' attention. For example, a good Instagramable - that is what they call a good picturesque place - the cafe will bring a lot of visitors, especially teenagers. It makes them curious and gather with their friends there. Another plus point is they can save the moment on their social media as it is worth posting. To conclude, technology and the pandemic are generating online bonded teenagers, and knowing what the teenagers want and infusing them into our real-life space is important to solve that matter.