It is argued that the parents of children who break the rules should be punished in some ways as parents are responsible for the children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals frequently put the blame for juvenile delinquency on their parents. Nevertheless, from my perspective, exerting discipline on parents for their children’s wrongdoings is not sensible because every individual is responsible for their own actions. It is undeniable that mothers and fathers must take accountability for their children’s malpractice since they are role models for their offspring from the earliest days of their lives. It could be true that juveniles’ misbehaviours, which violate the law, may stem from the observation of their parents. And since adolescents are acutely sensitive, they can be affected straightforwardly. For example, if parents are offenders who cheat others for money, their children would suppose it as normal and consequently commit the same crime in possible cases in the future. Despite the aforementioned arguments, I hold the belief that should not be imposed punishments on their parents when their offspring commit an offence. The first reason can be attributed to individuals’ responsibility for their actions. And each person is a separate individual engaging in a myriad of activities. Hence, it is morally wrong and may foster resentment and ill will toward innocent individuals. Another point worth mentioning is that adolescents are influenced by not only their parents but also other factors such as their peers or anti-social content on the Internet. Frequent exposure to toxic friends at school or violent topics on social media, for example, will be a key factor in illicit behaviours, which could be the potential root of crime-committing activities. Thus, it is reasonable to assume that other parties should share responsibility for children who break the law. In conclusion, although parents will be at the core of setting examples for their offspring, I am of the opinion that it is unreasonable to accuse them of their children’s dirty deeds because of individual liability for their actions and other influential parties.