Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend , while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences . Discuss both sides of this argument and give your own opinion

Digitalized gadgets are often used in learning. Although a group of persons believe that it is a good development, others opine that this leads to detrimental outcome. This essay will expatiate more on both point of views and also explain why in my opinion, the former idea is worth supporting than the later. On the one hand, there are various points against the use of computers for academic purposes. Firstly, it does not encourage good academic performance. This is because too many distractions exist online and learners uses the time allocated for learning for other trivial things such as surfing from one social media to another or chatting with friends. They may even decide to watch movies other than studying. To illustrate, Mc Demian in his research, found out that 80% of pupils utilizing computerized equipments for studying end up performing poorly at the end of each academic session. Secondly, it is quiet an expensive means of learning.the reason for this is that alot of resources are required in using equipments which are digital in nature to study. These ranges from purchase of equipments down to purchase of data in other to assess study materials. On the other hand, many reasons abound why others are in support of studying with computers. To begin, it makes learning across the globe possible. This is so because, one would not need to travel out of his or her country in other to acquire knowledge from another country. People can easily take online courses from another continent at the comfort of their homes. For instance, Ademola reported in PrimeTime newspaper that, he has been able to take numerous certification courses online from his sitting-room through the use of his personal computer. Finally, studying and learning with technological equipments saves time. The reason for this is that, one do not have to search for study materials or literatures from one hard copy textbooks to the other, which is time consuming. Rather, these can easily be accessed from online textbooks and e-books which will save them energy and time for other activities. In conclusion, despite the contrasting views about the use of computers for educational purposes, I belief that the use of digital equipments can not be overemphasized.