Some clam that not enough of the waste is recycled from homes. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for the government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the same?

Garbage recycling has sparked a controversy in society. Most people argue that too much household waste is not recycled enough and the only solution to this issue is there should be official government regulations. I strongly agree with that notion. This essay will explain that legal statements from the state will give reward and punishment mechanisms to the people and effectively encourage the community to be aware of their environmental movements. Firstly, making official governance on recycling a mandatory activity for each household would highly increase their responsibility regarding their own waste. The adjustment will force people to do what has been said in the official statement because it offers a reward and punishment mechanism in society. For instance, in Indonesia, a family will be rewarded IDR20,000 per kilogram if they accumulate their waste and take it to the Waste Bank in their city. Even though there is no serious punishment by the legal, people will face social sanction if they do not comply with the regulations. Secondly, producing legal enforcement will spread a higher awareness of waste management among people, especially on the recycling system. Primarily, the authority will socialize the 'why' and 'how' this regulation was initiated and indirectly will educate people on the reason behind their environmental movement. Take the introduction of 3R (reduce-reuse-recycling) methods at the beginning to the public as an example. The result shows it changed people's behavior which is becoming more aware due to hundreds of campaign posters or advertisements in public spaces. To sum up, government control will benefit people the most. It mainly because the government have the power to regulate and educate the community regarding the recycling mechanism. In the end, it becomes the only effective way to influence the public to do the right thing for the environment.