Some people believe that governments should pay full course fees for students who want to study in universities. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, university education becomes a norm in many parts of the world. Some hold the opinion that the authority should have a significant role in paying the whole amount of tuition fee for students, while the others have contradicted viewpoints. In my opinion, the government could provide the support for the disadvantaged but the students themselves must be the ones who are mainly responsible for paying the fee. First and foremost, university learning can cost a large amount of money, which can be an obstacle for those who are financially inadequate. The tuition fee to participate in university courses could prevent the poor, who are willing to learn, from getting a better education, and then deprive them of the chance to become successful in the future. For example, in Vietnam, numerous youngsters were born without a good family background and have no financial support from their parents. Notably, those poor students tend to show excellent academic performance and the eager to learn more. Being aware of the situation, the Vietnamese government has offered them a full scholarship to help them to finish their studying in exchange for several years working for national institutions. On the other hand, I believe that most students should have the responsibility to pay for their tertiary education so that they could value studying more. In fact, if the public sector is in charge of paying tuition fees for every student, some learners may not appreciate the education they get. To illustrate, in elementary education, the Vietnamese government have paid for all children to go to the state schools. However, some families seemed to underestimate the education their children might acquire. A similar circumstance could happen to higher education if the parents do not have to worry about their offspring’s learning. In conclusion, the government’s financial support in higher education is a good attempt. Nevertheless, the officials should assess the situation of each student to decide if they could receive the scholarship or not.