There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment.

Some people think it is more useful to assess students via exams, while others believe it's better to assess them through continual marks. Those two concepts have both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, a big advantage of using exams for assessment is the time for preparation for the test. Firstly, students can dedicate themselves to spending time getting ready for the exams. Secondly, students can prepare the exact topics that they need for the exam. This is a great advantage because teachers almost always teach their students topics that won't happen on the test. Another example is that students can focus more on their weaknesses and fix them rather than studying all the unnecessary topics that the teacher taught them. However, assessment through exams can be not that good. Firstly, students can be nervous while passing the test. They can have some thoughts about what will be if I don't pass that test. Secondly, during preparation for the test, students can have some mental problems. For instance, some students can be depressed or, even worse, make suicide. Finally, but not less importantly, some students can cheat on that test. Nowadays, there are plenty of situations when students are caught cheating while writing tests. In conclusion, for someone, there are more pros than cons, but, from my point of view, disadvantages are more valuable than advantages, therefore I don't agree with the statement that it is better to assess students through exams, rather than through continuing scores.