Television is a tool that can be used to learn. Therefore, children should be encouraged to watch it regularly at home and school. To what extent do you agree?

Television shows can be useful for numerous reasons and one such aspect of it is that a child can enhance his learning through it hence, they should be motivated to view during their school and home time. I am strongly against this said notion and this will be showcased in the following paragraphs. One of the main point is, that the level of the content broadcasted on small screens is not appropriate for a child's development. Instead of presenting any educational programmes, these are having more entertainment quotient to it and therefore, it is not advisable for children to watch for their learning purpose. To cite an example for this, in India it is well-known fact that most of television series are based on reality shows and daily soap operas and there are fewer channels dedicated for educational purposes. Furthermore, despite the so called education channels, the quality of the shows is not appropriate for a child's growth. Unequivocally, the amount of time a pupil watches the series on a small screen for learning has led to several negative aspects. One of these is, a child might get distracted from his academic obligations and spends more time viewing programmes that are labelled as educational shows as it does not focus on a key point for learning and instead it is presented as a generalized topic. Moreover, the teaching taught by a professional teacher in a school can not be replicated on a small screen and thus learning through television is not beneficial for a child. To recapitulate, I believe there are various downsides to motivating a pupil to watch television for learning purposes in their house and education institute such as, the number of channels available and the low-quality learning quotient it has also a teacher in an Institute has far more expertise in his field than any programme that claims to give information to a child and therefore, I strongly believe that television is not the best medium to learn for a child whether it in their home or academic setting and my view has been clearly highlighted in the paragraphs above.