Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is certainly true that nowadays, kids spend a lot of time on their phones; however, some individuals believe that this will have bad consequences on children's lives. In this essay, I will discuss why this might be the case and the negative results of this trend. We live in a world today that is dominated by smartphones, every single aspect of life can be found there; therefore, children tend to use them more than often as a substitute for reality, for example, on social media like Facebook they can form new friendships without even leaving their homes. Moreover, with recent innovations, the education system has changed a lot, and in several countries now, pupils are required to own a smartphone in order to accomplish various tasks, for instance, in the UK, it is an obligation to get your child a smartphone in order to attend schools. As a result, children have an excuse to use them every day. This is obviously a negative development, first of all, it has been shown that smartphones can be highly addictive, thus, children are exposed to a potential danger of becoming addicted and this will probably have a bad impact on their studies as they will start neglecting their homework. Secondly, if they get used to virtual reality, this can damage their social skills, for example, a study done in France, showed that people who spend more time on social media tend to be less sociable in comparison to others, also it is so difficult for them in social events to talk to people and make new acquaintances. To conclude, in this essay, I have discussed the reasons why young people use their phones a lot and argued that it is indeed a bad trend.