Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they release from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

It is true that a considerable amount of criminals re-offend instantly as they are released from prison. This essay will outline the causes of recidivists and provide measures that can address the problem. There are some reasons why people break the law immediately after getting out of jail. Firstly, most offenders are those from underprivileged families. They probably have a low level of education and are unable to earn enough money for living. For instance, statistics indicate that countries with higher incomes clearly have lower crime rates than those with lower incomes. Secondly, not all prisons provide educational opportunities that can help prisoners enhance their morality and transform into better people. Moreover, inmates gathering together in cramped cells may cause more hatred against society. Thirdly, prisoners may be labelled by society and have a lower chance to find a job. Most employers tend not to embrace those with criminal records and reject their job applications straight away. However, there are steps that both government and individuals should take to reduce crime rates. Fundamentally,the government can arrange courses in jail that can help criminals gain professional skills. Therefore, lawbreakers can be more competitive after they are released. In addition, as a member of society, we should try to accept those with criminal records and provide them with a second chance to live. Feeling trusted and welcomed supports people mentally, which also avoids criminal behaviour. To conclude, the existence of prisons is necessary, but I believe various measures can be taken to prevent habitual criminals.