In many workplaces, online communication is getting more and more common than meeting face to face. What are the advantages and disadvantages of online communication?

The Advancement of technology of the internet and computers has changed how people communicate. Many people these days prefer to communicate through the the online platforms than face to face. Although some people may argue that this may lead to anti-social behaviours and loneliness, I believe that online meetings have their pros and cons. To embark on, we live in an unprecedented the modern era, where everything is expected to be more efficient. This includes how workers communicate with their clients and also their colleagues. It is common these days that people communicating using online media such as Zoom, google meets or WhatsApp for work, for example for meetings. This poses benefits for the company as well as its employees. First, it is effective and efficient to have an online meeting, as the employee can attend from any place. Therefore, the company does not have to provide a large meeting room and its complementary needs. Secondly, an online meeting can be recorded, so it is very handy for everyone to watch it when necessary. On the flip side, online communication has its cons. First, it relies too much on the availability of a good internet connection. There are some cases where a meeting is disrupted because the internet or electricity is down. Secondly, in rural areas, particularly when the internet has not been widely available, online communication may be a challenge, and causes unfinished messaging. Lastly, as a, human we still need a social encounter, where we can talk to each other directly. This may help to reduce stress and loneliness in society. In conclusion, online communication has both advantages and disadvantages. Despite its convenience, we sometimes still need to communicate in person.