In the past, buildings ofien reflected the culture of a society but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar.What do you think is the reason for this, and is it a good thing or a bad thing?

In today's world similar construction is used throughout the cities, whereas in the olden times the buildings displayed the culture and the heritage of the society. In the following paragraphs I shall putforth the pros and cons of such an architecture. Firstly, it is important that the culture and the heritage of a country should be treasured. In the past people constructed with the availability of resources and also was planned scientifically in order to have ample light and ventilation. For instance, earlier buildings were constructed with high ceilings, today we rarely come across as there are restrictions imposed by the government as high buildings will reduce the light or ventilation to your neighbour, hence such restrictions to co-exist. Secondly, by imposing guidelines for construction will help the society for proper development and planning of the cities in order to accommodate and have access to the resources available. These rules are necessary in my opinion and I think this is for the betterment of society in its entirety. For example, during my visit I observed that Abudabhi has similar houses constructed throughout the city and being a desert people are not deprived of any availability of resources. The city looks very subtle with enough space between two buildings. Overall, In my,opinion certain restrictions need to be imposed in order to plan and improve the city properly. Also, the disposal of wastes or the way water and sewage pipes are connected to the main source.