Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the belief that there is no sense to learn literature like novels and poems for students of high school. I can not agree with this idea. In my point of view, the importance of learning literature should be held in high regard in every stages of education. There are several reasons why I believe that it's important to learn literature for high school students. Firstly, reading novels and poems can create some sense of identity and belonging to a certain nation. Although the storyline in the novels can be fictional, it can give the reader deep insight into the history and culture of a certain nation. For example, students can get better understanding of 19th century Russian society and war time in the historical novel War and Piece by Leo Tolstoy rather than reading regular history textbooks. Secondly, studying literature helps students to learn more about language which can improve the way they express themselves and communication skills. This can be especially beneficial for the future career of the students after graduating. Having better communication skills can be their competitive advantage. Moreover, literature is considered to be a form of art which brings substance to our lives. Without art our world would be ghastly and boring place to live. Therefore I believe that literature should be important part of any high school curriculum as it helps to foster student's artistic intelligence and provides a break from monotony of subjects such as science and math. These days much attention is given to the math and science based subjects because they are considered to be highly in demand in the economy. However, I argue that literature should also be considered as important as economy since it plays crucial role in the intellectual and psychological development of young generation. In conclusion, it is crucial to state that teaching literature for high school students is irreplaceable due to aforementioned reasons and I consider that it is a big mistake if we think learning literature is time- consum ing