In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, in business advertising, it is common to appeal products with new characteristics. This is because consumers tend to be tempted by new things, and it is one of the most possible ways for the company to highlight product points. I personally think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, most people are attracted to advertising and buy certain products. So, in order to attract consumer attention, it is natural for companies to emphasize new aspects of their products. Also regular customers are always looking for something new because they want to spend money on better items than before. What “new” means to consumers would be reasonably expected to mean “ developed”. For instance, when a company releases a new product, consumers are not interested without the development of an older version, so they need to develop additional features, product improvement methods, and new design ideas. In addition, since the purpose of advertising is to reach customers and sell products, it is commercially reasonable for most companies to focus on the advantages of products. Some may argue that advertising, in which companies try to appeal new products, creates unnecessary high competition. But I disagree with this argument. With the development of the internet, reasonable consumers can collect information and distinguish between false and misleading advertisements. On the other hand, in order to advertise new benefits, companies must strive to develop products. This is why companies spend huge amounts of money on research and development as they develop technology. Advances in technology and the launch of new products make our lives more convenient. In conclusion, for companies, emphasizing the new advantages of the product is effective in promoting it to customers. Also, there are more advantages than disadvantages. Therefore, through product advertisements by companies, consumers can consume reasonably, and companies will make more efforts to develop technologies to make money. These technological advances make our lives more convenient.