Many believe that the goal of one’s career should be to pursue a passion while others feel it is merely a way to earn a livelihood. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Regarding a person’s career path, some hold a view that you should make it your passion, while others believe that it is primarily a way to take monetary remuneration. From my point of view, I am in favour of the latter. On the one hand, there are good grounds for believing in a passion-driven career. Supporters of this aspect may point out that there is nothing worse than having to wake up every morning during the week to go do work you do not care about. They also maintain that having enthusiasm for a certain field can fuel not only creativity but also motivation and that people are more inclined to come up with better ideas in order to go beyond the call of duty for instance. On the other hand, I side with those holding the perspective that earning a living should be prioritised. First and foremost, it is believed that if you transform hobbies into work, it can undermine your enjoyment of these activities. For instance, by the pursuit of rewards like compensation, promotion or meeting KPIs at work, you can be under pressure and your interest gets declined. In addition, supporters believe that a career should provide a sustainable income in order to pay the bills or when you have a family to take into consideration. As a result, your job is one way of making sure you can afford your passion. To summarise, it seems to me that passion does not necessarily have to define our effort, segregating it and professionals can help you balance what you love and your nine-to-five professional life.