In recent years, the structure of a family and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

In the past few decades, the patterns of a family seem to be greatly diversified. There are several changes related to this trend regarding its organization and members' role. In my opinion, this tendency can be seen as progress. There are a variety of different alterations to this phenomenon. To begin with, the structure of a nuclear family now can have more than a breadwinner, who normally is the father. This is because, in recent years, women also play a vital role in terms of family income. In fact, the tech-savvy era dramatically boosts the cost of living, and as a result, both parents are required to secure a job to meet the demand of family expenditure. Another significant change to mention is the role of its members in a household. It means that it is considered a normal thing that the woman will be a financial supporter. As a result of women's protests for their rights, women nowadays have the conditions to achieve a better education and have the ability to find a well-paid job meanwhile the other spouse will be the domestic person to take care of house chores. For example, as reported in Vietnam Express in 2020, more than 30% of households in Vietnam have a wife as the main earner. From my perspective, those changes in the family's structure and parental roles are positive for a variety of reasons. That both parents can be the breadwinners would ensure the stable finance of a family. It means that it would not only ease the burden on the crucial role of the father but also help the mother to pursue her dream job. For example, as reported by Times in 2018 that working Japanese women have reduced the pressure on husbands when it is traditional that men should be the main worker in Japan. A second positive aspect is that it is an upward step that individuals are at liberty to do what they are good at and what they belong to. Women can follow their dream and ambition which would balance the family's financial status if they are better at work rather than men. In conclusion, from my point of view, the differences in the structure of a family and the parental role should be taken into consideration as a positive practice.