Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a number of children spend a significant amount of their time, often hours, using their smartphones on a daily basis. I will outline some possible reasons for this and I believe that this can be a positive development, as they can connect to the source of information and can keep in touch with their friends and family. To begin with, smartphones are very well-liked among offspring, as these devices offer a wide range of entertainment options, such as playing games, listening to music, and browsing social media. For example, there are many mobile games that are specially designed for children, with bright colours, fun characters, and easy-to-use layouts. In addition, smartphones are increasingly being used as educational tools, with many applications and online resources designed to help children learn. For instance, Duolingo is a very popular application for learning English, which teaches the English language to kids in an interesting way. Although, using smartphones by children has many negative impacts on their physical and mental health, including a sedentary lifestyle and sleep problems. Those problems can be minimized by setting reasonable limits on screen time, monitoring content, and promoting healthy habits. I believe that it is a positive development, as not only children can access educational material and resources, but also they have opportunities to connect with their friends and family, even from distance.To demonstrate, some children, who live in developing countries may suffer from a lack of information to improve their skills in their countries, but they can improve their knowledge by access to the source of international data on the internet through their smartphones. In conclusion, some offspring tend to spend hours of their daily time on smartphones, because they can do many fun activities, as well as, use online resources. I believe this can bring some opportunities to children, such as communication with their friends and access to worldwide information.