In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

There are some governments around the world that focus on financial development over other societal matters. While prioritizing economic advancements is beneficial to build a sustainable nation while promoting a positive international image, it often fails to provide short-term responses to social problems and community well-being. This essay will further discuss both sides. Prioritizing economic growth when governing a country has relevant advantages. Firstly, a prosperous economy attracts international attention, and, consequently, brings new investors and business. This will benefit citizens by creating new work opportunities, for instance. Moreover, more affluent countries are commonly seen as having positive potential. For this reason, they create tighter relationships with foreign markets and strengthen external trade. For example, when Brazil was in economic expansion during the 2000s, many foreign leaders made accords with the South American nation to import products such as red meat and orange, increasing the country's revenue. On the other hand, when prioritising financial expansion, authorities usually oversee their own internal problems such as investing in increased quality of life. Many cities in Brazil, for example, have structural issues such as no paved roads, medical assistance, or community centres available for the population. Furthermore, social problems like the lack of security and increased domestic violence cases are not prioritized which results in high levels of criminality and female deaths. As a result, it creates drawbacks for the government. In conclusion, the pros of prioritizing economic growth include creating a better international image and attracting investment and external trade, whereas the cons include failure to address social issues and investing in the population's quality of life.