In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Nowadays, some countries inspire youth to work or travel during the gap year between ending high school and continuing university courses. In that case, it would bring several profits and drawbacks. On the one hand, some people say that young people can gain precious life experience through a break before they start a new course in college. To begin with, attending a part-time job have a benefit, which younger learn the value of money. It helps them to realize the difficulty of earning and saving money, they are also able to accumulate knowledge. In addition, travelling is an opportunity to expand the horizons for the youth who have a gap period. If they go outside and meet new people, they could learn social skills which they cannot be taught by the school. Therefore, the youth who have been working or travelling are more likely to deal with different circumstances in their life. On the other hand, there are some significant drawbacks that would show up. Firstly, having a gap year represents that people do not study the educational subject. Without regular study habits, young people cannot adjust their education when they back to campus. Although they have learned experience from the workplace or travel journey, the truth is that they lack professional knowledge of the subject. Secondly, visiting different countries could let young people in dangerous or risky situations. It can easily come out to students who go abroad to explore the world. In my conclusion, I believe that taking a gap year has both advantages and disadvantages, it still depends on students what they choose they want.