The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last decade. discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the last decade, the proportion of obese children has increased by nearly 20% in Western society. There are many reasons leading to obesity and its effects, such as the wider spread of technology causing mental harm. Moreover, the poor diet may lead to health issues. Firstly, the primary cause is the widespread use of technology. Because of this, children spend most of their time engaged with devices, leading to a lack of physical activity and resulting in obesity. For example, nowadays, when most children wake up, the first thing they do is check their phones or iPads. Additionally, this can cause mental harm, such as feeling stressed and lonely due to their weight. Furthermore, these days, the amount of fast-food over the world has increased rapidly. To clarify, in the last 15 years, many kinds of fast-food have been emerged, which makes people to dine outside rather than prepare home-cooked meals. For instance, RFC has thousands of branches in Oman and they produce plenty of advertisements which encourage people to buy as it is fast and easy to prepare. Moreover, these foods contain high levels of sodium and sugar content which are factors for weight increase. To sum up, although the wider spread of technology and poor diet are emerged nowadays, these reasons might lead to mental impacts and health issues.