Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, people are getting used to the tendency to take a gap year of students between high school and university. Even though there are numerous advantages of this trend but the fact that students cannot bare with the drawbacks is needed to be considered. To begin with, it is undeniable that having a year off to work and travel can bring numerous advantages for students. Firstly, the youngster will have the opportunity to obtain and sharpen their skills while traveling. This means that traveling can help students acquire social and cultural knowledge. From the perspective of workers in the future, this gap time may enable students to enrich themselves with real-life experiences. Students may acquire working skills such as teamwork, and communication, which are essential for their future jobs. On other hand, there are more significant disadvantages to taking a gap year. The primary reason is that the young can be overwhelmed by the unwanted difficulties of the life out of school campus. In other words, this can affect to what they are thinking about their future life. Another reason is that students without clear academic achievements may not return to school after the gap year. What is more, there would be fewer university students, which directly affect to the number of intellectual workforces in the future. In conclusion, although taking a year off is advantageous in a few aspects, the shortcomings of this trend are more serious to consider. It is recommended that students should not take a gap time between high school and university due to some reasons.