Many people believe that the young should take a gap year before going to university. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this choice before concluding that the former is more significant.

Many people believe that the youth should take a gap from their studies after graduation of their schooling instead of getting admission to the University. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this choice before concluding that the former is more significant. On the one hand, getting a job or travelling right after high school is disadvantageous to some extent. The foremost shortcoming is that students lose the momentum to study. To explain this, the information they have learnt could fade away after taking a year gap from high school. As a result, learners could suffer from getting knowledge from a new curriculum while pursuing their degree education. In addition, travel costs them a great deal of money. Especially if they move to another country, they will have to ask for support from parents for 12 months expenses of food, accommodation, flight tickets, which may become a heavy burden on their family. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that young graduates should choose to postpone higher education. One reason is that this decision could give high school seniors opportunities to gain valuable experience. For instance, many Vietnamese students choose to take a gap year to live in a foreign country, which could help them enrich their life experiences and learn to be independent. Another reason is that having a year-long break allows young students to clarify their study or career ladder later. This is because of the fact that during their time staying in another country, they can work for different positions so that understand their potential strength, hone practical skills and upgrade their language ability. Then when they come back to their home country, they can apply what they have learned. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that travelling for a year after high school in lieu of going directly to college could have some downsides, I would contend that the upsides which it offers are significantly more noteworthy.