Governments and big companies should work together to reverse environmental damage, rather than making individuals responsible for that. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Environmental issues have reached a point where individual measures are simply not powerful enough. In this essay, I will explain how companies and governments have the biggest responsibility for this issue and how they can work together successfully. The vast majority of big companies have reached their success by ignoring their environmental footprint, leading to an enormously increased pollution problem. Because of that these companies have a duty to become more eco-conscious and aware of the world they are developing in. By comparison, seeing governments as big public companies that lead countries and their people, they haven't acknowledged their protagonist role in this issue over the years, not promoting any campaigns that could have made individuals more conscious about how serious environmental problems are. Today, when we're running out of time, the only suitable solution is that both governments and private businesses work together, investing their time and money to make reasonable changes that will help us reverse, at least to some level, the damage that has already been done. The main issue governments may face while working together with private agencies can be the selfish interests some businesses may have, affecting the approach they may choose and its outcome. As an example of this, Spain banned plastic bags from supermarkets in 2015, this was the result of a joint project between the government and the main supermarkets of the country. In contrast to what one may think, plastic bags were never removed from their venues, instead of that, they started charging for bags that were previously free. In conclusion, I believe governments and big companies must join forces in order to solve the big ecosystem damage issue, however, the strongest power within this movement must remain in governments, so they can determine every big measure of this kind, making themselves sure it will have a positive outcome on the greater good of its people.