Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job, others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In today’s world, finding an adequate job is a daunting task. It is believed by some people that tertiary education is the most effective way to find a worthy job, while others maintain that gaining experience directly is more efficient. In my opinion, considering the nature of the job and skills required, formal university education and experience are equally important. To begin with, it is commonly believed that university education enables you to get a job as per society’s standard. Some professions demand particular skills such as doctors, engineers, lawyers to name but a few, and these duties can only be performed by people with high skills and intensive knowledge which can only be obtained through a formal education at an institute. For instance, in order to perform the duties of a medical professional in the UK, you are obliged to study for 6 years and attain an official certificate before you can commence your practice as per country’s law. Therefore, some jobs require university degree and should be obtained. In contrast to those who think formal education is the best method are those who believe hand-on experience is more beneficial and should be preferred. Moreover, they argue that spending years in university is waste of time and resources. This can be true for entrepreneur and jobs such as programming where having skills is a crucial aspect. For example, a recent report by an Italian journal “La Stampa” stated that 45% of the people hired by Microsoft in the last 3 years do not have graduate degree. As can be seen, for few jobs, it is far better to have experience. To conclude, there are different opinions about whether education or experience is more beneficial. From my perspective, having an academic degree is as important as know-how, depending on the type of job.