Some people believe that governments should make laws about people’s nutrition and food choice while others argue that it is their choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people feel that governments should be able to create laws regarding what people eat in order to control their health. Personally, I believe this is a ridiculous idea, and people should be free to make their own decisions about what they do with their bodies. The following essay will discuss both sides of the issue. To begin with, there are some people who think that it is the government’s responsibility to regulate people ’s diets. They believe this would help to create a much healthier population and reduce the burdens that sickness and disease place on society. These days, the over-consumption of addictive fast foods, soft drinks, and junk food is widespread and is having vast ramifications on both children and adults’ health, such as obesity, diabetes, and heart disease. This is putting a great amount of pressure on healthcare systems and the economy, as governments try to deal with the associated impacts of poor diets and sedentary lifestyles. Certainly, by reducing the consumption of junk foods and increasing the amounts of healthy foods in people ’s diets, society would be much healthier and more prosperous. On the other hand, many people believe that everyone should have the freedom to choose what they want to eat, and I tend to agree with this idea. Firstly, everyone is different. While some people have a tendency to put on weight and have a genetic predisposition to certain diseases, other people are able to maintain a healthy body regardless of the food they eat. Furthermore, people have the right to food and its variations, meaning that they reserve the right to access sufficient food, feed themselves adequately to meet their dietary needs. This right has come into recognition worldwide and, as a result, people can and should be allowed to decide what their daily meals are like. In conclusion, I believe it is absurd to suggest that governments should control what people eat. However, I do believe that governments should focus their efforts on restricting the advertisement and promotion of unhealthy foods, such as fast foods and junk foods, and educate people about the negative effects these foods have on their health.