You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

Social media has now proven to be one of the biggest parts of our lives. Some regard it as an indispensable tool, while others feel concerned about its impact on our social lives. This essay will delve into the positive and negative sides of social applications, as well as provide examples and arguments on why I personally believe that the disadvantages overshadow the benefits of the indicated development. To begin with, websites like Twitter have proven to aid in connecting individuals all over the globe, enhancing their wealth of knowledge. In other words, with social networks, the public is more aware of the cultures and experiences that they otherwise would never be in the know of. For example, there has been a trend named #BlackLivesMatter, which sheds light on the discrimination that coloured people experience in Western countries. Without social media platforms, many would stay ignorant of the racism that runs rampant in these countries. On the contrary, social websites could also bring irreversible damage to a person's mental health. One of these occurrences is that the Web serves as a coping mechanism for many to use, which discourages them from enduring the hardships of life. To exemplify, Hikikomori is a Japanese term for the crowd who are Internet addicts, staying in their rooms to escape the outside world. Moreover, mass media is not safe. Simply speaking, they create breeding grounds for the community with nefarious intents. A small portion of these instances would be the many accounts of not only information stealing, but also grooming, paedophilia and cyberbullying. In conclusion, although the World Wide Web is a useful tool to help the public connect, I believe that its influence is predominantly negative. This can be understood through the fact that these websites are extremely addictive and incredibly dangerous as well. Therefore, social network site consumption should be limited in our lives.