Discipline is an ever-increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishments. If you want to be successful, you need to maintain self-restraint. But the question is who will inculcate this caliber in the children. While some believe it is the exclusive responsibility of the teachers, others opine that only parents should be held accountable for it. In this essay, both these views will be considered and elucidated. When a child is born, the things or people he/she knows are mainly coached by the parents. Whether it is as important as talking, walking or learning etiquette or minor ones like learning what to call others or basic sounds, the parents teach them. So, technically, parents are the first teachers as well as the main upholders of discipline in a child’s life. For example, parents teach their children to get up early in the morning, complete their homework, involve in physical activities, participate in chores and go to sleep at the right time. These fundamental steps stay with the child as good habits throughout their lives. Even as they grow up, parents maneuver their children to follow their conscience and do the right thing. Parents can school their children at home. But what happens when they go out? That is where the role of the teacher comes into play. At school or higher institutions, the obligation of sustaining discipline lies with the teacher. He/she helps the student understand how to work in a team without fuss, follow the rules, help others in need and never give up. While the parents can be biased toward their children, the teacher handles different kinds of students and treats them equally. In a similar way, when the teacher finds it difficult to maintain discipline, parents can take the charge. In conclusion, it can be said that the liability to preserve discipline among children is a combined responsibility of both parents and teachers. Where one cannot watch over, the other will find a way to direct the youngsters towards their goal.