Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be shut down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

There is a belief in the cruelty of zoos and some people think that they should be demolished. Meanwhile, others argue that zoos can provide protection for wildlife. From my perspective, zoos are essential for wildlife creatures. In this essay, I will examine both views and express my perspective. On the one hand, some zoos only hold animals in captivity in order to make money instead of preserving them. Many zoos take advantage of wildlife creatures and take charge of visitors for opportunities to interact with animals. In fact, in many places where animals are being mistreated as they are not provided with enough food, water, and medical care, which has caused the deaths of many of them due to starvation and diseases. On the other hand, zoos can protect endangered animals by keeping them safe from hunters or other dangers, such as habitat destruction from climate change. Many zoos nowadays also run breeding programs which enable rare species to reproduce and prevent them from extinction. Secondly, zoos can raise people’s awareness about different types of wild animals in order to preserve them better. If people know exactly about their status, they can behave more carefully to protect those animals. For example, a lot of zoos provide information boards near all cages to help visitors learn and understand more about the animals that they are observing. In conclusion, I still believe that zoos offer many positive impacts on the conservation of wildlife animals and put a significant impact on preserving wildlife.