Task 2: The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this golden age of the Internet, it is understandable that more and more users prefer virtual communication through social networking sites to the real one. In my opinion, I believe that the drawbacks resulting from this trend outweigh its benefits. On the one hand, using social media can help people gain social advantages. First of all, there has been a tendency to live as a nuclear family so that people may have fewer opportunities to keep in touch with their relatives. However, video-call function from several social networking sites these days can handle this problem, it enables them to maintain interactions with their families and friends, especially the scattered ones. Moreover, a large number of fellows having similar interests can be connected through the Internet regardless of geographical barrier, which benefits users by creating more new relationships and expanding their social circle. On the other hand, these merits mentioned above also have some limitations and I suppose that they are outweighed by more adverse impacts. In terms of social interaction, communicating virtually instead of directly may lessen one's chances of developing their interpersonal skills. Even though people already have had screen-to-screen conversations, it is still different to act with other people and react to how other people are acting when dealing with life interaction. Additionally, the Internet's flourish may be at a cost of privacy due to the rapid growth of cybercrime. For example, users can get their personal information stolen by hackers /get stolen their personal information by hackers/, especially financial market one, or become victims of online scammers. In conclusion, the use of social media addresses some positive aspects for the convenience of communication. Nevertheless, from my perspective, the disadvantages of this replacement for face-to-face interaction are more considerable than its advantages as a result of social and financial elements.