Many people believe that the high levels of violence in films today are causing serious social problems. What are these problems and how could they be reduced?

Increasing violence in movies has become a controversial topic nowadays. It is often argued that such gruesome actions are the reason for many societal issues. This essay will discuss the problems caused by these violent scenes including criminal offences and misleading adolescents, and a number of solutions including strict regulations by the government and parental control. To begin with, there is a universal consensus that people are more likely to get influenced by the movies they watch. If movies exhibit violent events, it can exert an enormous influence on young people who try to imitate those actions and consequently commit criminal offences such as theft, murder, and fights. These films mislead teenagers who can barely differentiate between a movie and a reality which as a result pushes them towards committing a crime. For instance, a recent school shooting event that happened in the USA was carried out by a 15-year-old boy who was inspired by a movie and learned how to use those weapons. As can be seen, such movies certainly have impacted society and caused many unfortunate incidents. This problem is not refractory, provided it is dealt with proper measures. One solution perhaps could be the strict regulations imposed by the government so that producers of such movies can be held accountable. Moreover, if there are harsh punishments for crimes of such nature, it would deter the criminals from contemplating. Another possible remedy could be parental control. Parents are responsible for their children’s activities and should strictly monitor the content they are watching. To elucidate, an article published in “The Guardian” stated that kids with restrictive use of social media and tv were 60% less likely to be exposed to aggressive content. Therefore, with better control and policies these problems can be tackled. To conclude, watching movies has become incredibly common these days. This essay discussed possible problems such as crimes and also provided potential solutions such as stricter laws and more control from parents.