Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Is it a positive or negative development?

Due to globalization, countries inevitably exchange their national food, which leads to having comparable products on the market. I tend to believe that this process is advantageous in terms of food variety as well as travellers facing less cultural shock during their journeys. To begin with, import gives access to virtually any type of food, even if it is grown thousands of miles away. Thus, local supermarket chains are able to sell a wide range of goods, from exotic fruit and vegetables to meat from animals which live only in certain areas of the globe. Therefore, it gives individuals as well as restaurants a chance to introduce new culinary masterpieces by virtue of experimenting with ingredients and recipes. This enables nations all over the world to try new tastes they would otherwise miss. Additionally, the risk of going down with food poisoning while travelling has become much lower. Having arrived in a foreign country, a tourist is less likely to be stressed about what to eat, since he or she is already accustomed to the food consumed there. For those who prefer to eat their national dishes, it is similarly quite easy to find the same type of food in almost any country they attend. For instance, some districts in cities are home to a large number of food chains offering an international menu. To conclude, although food industries become alike by means of adopting a variety of food from other territories, I still hold the view that we should not limit ourselves to food grown locally. Having diversified cuisine will give us a chance to experience new flavours and definitely simplify the lives of travellers going abroad.