Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The consumption of high levels of sugar has been linked to health problems, including obesity, type 2 diabetes and heart disease. As a result, some people argue that making sugary products more expensive could be an effective way to encourage people to consume less sugar. In my opinion, this strategy is understandable and could be effective enough to improve public health, but there are other efficient alternatives as well. On the one hand, there are some evidence that price can influence consumer behaviour. For example, studies show that increasing the price of sugary drinks can lead to reduced consumption. In fact, in Mexico, a new tax on sugary drinks was introduced in 2014 and the total consumption decreased by 12% in the first year. There are more countries, including France and the UK, where sugar taxes have been implemented over the past ten years. However, extra taxes on sugary products add more burden to low-income groups. On the other hand, sugar is an essential nutrient for human bodies to generate energy quickly on a daily basis. If all sugary products were increased in price by governments, low-income households would suffer from malnutrition, which leads to another health issue. Instead of sugar taxes, providing education and awareness campaigns about the health risks associated with a high sugar and high-fat diet. This can be done through schools and community centers. Moreover, encouraging physical activities through community initiatives such as walking or cycling groups, sports teams, and other activities can help promote a more active lifestyle. In conclusion, sugar taxes or increased price of sugary products are the one of the options to reduce sugar intake, but I believe that other ways, such as education and active lifestyle, would be more beneficial to everyone, regardless of social status.